6
Smarter Transcode Videos All (reset) Behaviour
Source: immich-app/immich#19632 · opened by @kevincox
I have searched the existing feature requests, both open and closed, to make sure this is not a duplicate request. • Yes The feature Right now when you change your transcoding settings they will only apply to new videos unless you click the "ALL" button. However the all button is pretty disruptive because it first deletes all existing transcodes, then queues the new jobs. This means that for a period of time (possibly days or weeks depending on number of videos, settings and sever speed) lots of videos will have no transcoded version which can have pretty significant effects such as preventing web-based playback. There are a handful of ways that this could be improved. 1. Don't delete the old video until the new transcode is available (or the new settings decided that a transcode isn't needed). 2. Prioritize videos without a transcode available. (ie. transcode new uploads before re-transcoding old files) 3. General prioritization (for example trans…
No pledges yet. Be the first to back this.
Comments
Similar requests
[BUG]: "Transcode missing" job won't catch videos, where only audio codec is undesired, because there are 0 Bytes transcodes from the previous version
1 vote · 0 comments
[Feature] Possibility to disable transcoding of HDR videos
12 votes · 0 comments
[Feature] Better fine grained include/excludes when backing up
6 votes · 0 comments
[Feature] Auto-add similar videos to albums
1 vote · 0 comments
[Feature] Transcoded video details (size, bitrate, size compared to original)
10 votes · 0 comments
No comments yet.